DINNERTIME!

For the first time, my roommates and I shared our first Sunday dinner together. I volunteered to cook the dinner, decided on a Chinese inspired theme. I tried really hard to cook it with authentic Chinese ingredients so as not to disappoint my Chinese roommate. It’s good that she introduced me to the neighborhood Chinese grocery store in the City Center where I could get my other ingredients.  It took me several days to complete the list of ingredients required. Well, this is how the food turned out.

Panda Express Inspired Orange Chicken

Ever since I ate at Panda Express way back in 1999, I never forgot how it tasted. It was just too good to forget! I scoured the Net, finding an easy recipe to follow. I found this recipe and the dish turned out that way as you see it above. However, for the orange sauce, I replaced the water for freshly squeezed orange juice. I’m happy that my roommates loved it, coz I loved it too! I was confident that I did justice to the memory of Panda Express.

This was Stirfried Brussels Sprouts with Carrots and Button Mushrooms in Oyster Sauce.

Funny story, I entered Albert Heijn Supermarket(incidentally my favorite spot in all of Utrecht) looking for vegetables to add to my healthy diet. I saw a packet that said Spruitjes, it was the cheapest vegetable on the racks, so I got it, thinking on my bike ride home that they were mini-artichokes hahaha. I went home and searched in the internet to find out that they were called Brussels Sprouts. I had no idea how to cook them. I immediately sought the expert advise of my mom, who said a very short and sweet tip, “treat them like broccoli.” So I did! I cooked it in garlic, sprinkled with some curry powder (a tip I got from the internet, to eliminate the bitter taste) mixed it with other veggies. Doused them with chicken broth, oyster sauce and a dash of sesame oil.

The dinner was a success. My roommates prepared panna cotta with strawberry sauce for dessert. So heavenly! It was just like dinner back at home, only in a smaller scale. But tasted really good!

3 thoughts on “DINNERTIME!

  1. Therese says:

    Looks really good! Is that shrimp im seeing? Can I get the recipe please? We bought a house already…in BF Homes Paranaque…we plan to transfer January of next year. I’ll try to attach pictures if its medyo renovated na. im trying to learn how to cook…para feeling Mom talaga! ha!ha!

  2. Therese says:

    yan ang wish ko..pero mas malabo ngayon. medyo naubos ang savings namin from buying the house tapos may renovations pa. Dream ko talaga parng ex pats wife!!! medyo matagal pa yata mang yari yun!

Leave a Reply

