SIMPLE YUMMY RECIPES FOR LAZY COOKS PART TWO

Apart from sinigang adventure, I tried two new dishes that were very easy, and would be easy to follow for first time cooks.

Pasta is a busy person’s best friend. It’s so easy to cook and quick too. Last time I was in the Philippines, I ate Pasta Alla Amatriciana at Luka’s in Puerto Galera. So I thought, why not recreate the classic, right in my own kitchen? Follow the steps, it’s absolutely fool-proof!

Pasta Alla Amatriciana

Find the recipe here.

4 slices thick-cut bacon, chopped
1 large onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced (my addition)
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 (28 ounce) can chopped tomatoes, undrained
1 lb spaghetti, cooked or other pastas, strands cooked
grated parmesan cheese, to serve
  1. Cook pasta according to directions.
  2. Cook bacon in a wide frying pan over medium-high heat, stirring often, just until fat is rendered (3-5 minutes). Add onion; cook, stirring often until soft (about 5 minutes). Stir in garlic and red pepper flakes and cook for 1 minute. Stir in tomatoes with their liquid. Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, until slightly thickened.
  3. Gently toss pasta with sauce.
  4. Serve with grated parmesan cheese.

This is the actual finished product.

And for dessert, I prepared a peach mango pancake/crepe. This is even easier! I bought the ready made crepes at the grocery, but you can make ur own, of course. I made a peach mango compote, where I used canned peaches that I boiled in the syrup mixed with butter and a little brown sugar. I mixed in some dried mangoes I brought from the Philippines. And then I scooped it into the crepe and topped with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream. Voila!

 

Yup, you can make it in a flash! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

