POST-VALENTINE FESTIVITIES

My roommates and I try to cook special Sunday dinners whenever we can. I always tell them that back home, we cook the best meals for Sunday evening coz that’s the time the entire family is home. I didn’t want to leave that tradition unpracticed. And so last Sunday, to celebrate my trip to the market where I bought mascarpone and ricotta cheese at 1 euro each, I decided to make lasagna. My roommate volunteered to make spinach souffle. Lit a few candles, and brought in fresh tulips from my bouquet and voila! An impromptu post valentine dinner with the girls!

See I told you, everyday can be a Valentines day! Flowers and candles can spark that mood anytime!

My lasagna didn’t turn out the way I wanted it. It was too dry. Maybe I didnt use mozzarella. It’s even against my will to post the picture here. Not even my fancy camera can manage to make it look delectable. But it wasn’t that bad… Hehehehe

My roommate’s spinach souffle on the other hand was superb! I love all her spinach dishes. She has actually turned me into a spinach fan. A female Popeye in the making!

Despite the lasagna mini-fiasco, I had a happy meal with my roommates. To have some quiet time with them, without thinking about papers and readings… Priceless…

 Lalalala…..

 After a few days, I am still so challenged to make a masterpiece. I had planned to make pancit (a Filipino vermicelli “mung bean noodle” dish) this week. But I have so many leftovers, I felt bad to start with a new dish. I kept on searching on the internet for my next experiment. Then I was enlightened by a going away party my roommate threw for a friend where they made Spanish tortilla, which also reminded me of my favorite breakfast that my mom made for me- Italian frittata. So I scoured the Net for a recipe, which would accommodate my leftover ingredients, spinach, ricotta, leftover lasagna noodles…

BOOOOOM! (In Ari Gold style) I chanced upon this recipe from Food-Fan.net

Pasta, Spinach and Three-Cheese Frittata150g Pasta
200g Frozen Spinach
1 medium Onion (chopped finely)
4 large Eggs (lightly beaten together)
2 heaped tbsps Ricotta
1 tbsp grated Parmesan
Mozzarella (sliced)
1 handful Fresh Basil (chopped very finely)
1 tsp Olive Oil
1 tsp Butter
1 clove Garlic (minced)
1 pinch Nutmeg
Salt & Pepper

Does 4 servings (or 2 plus a hungry boyfriend!) 1) Start cooking your pasta in slightly salted water.

2) Fry the garlic and onion until just going golden. Add the spinach and nutmeg and continue to cook until softened. Stir through the basil, ricotta and parmesan and season to taste.

3) Drain the cooked pasta and add the spinach mixtures – stir well.

4) In a clean frying pan, melt the butter until it just starts to froth. Tip in the pasta and arrange so it is reasonably level but not over-flattened.

5) Carefully pour in the egg mixture so it is evenly distributed through the pasta. Arrange slices of mozzarella on the top and finish with salt, pepper and a little grated parmesan.

6) Allow to cook slowly on the hob for approximately 5 minutes before finishing under the grill to cook and brown the top.

I adjusted the ingredients to fit my needs. The lasagna noodles I had left, I cut into strips. I replaced the mozzarella with grated gouda cheese. Used 3 eggs instead of four. And flipped the frittata tortilla-style (i.e. flipping it using a plate over the pan, and slid the omelette back into the pan, with the cooked side up) The finished product….

Yummy looking huh? Looks like bibingka though…

I just had to take more pictures. I was happy how it looked like..

Strike a pose, frittata!

Now came the taste test… Hayy not salty enough… I had to make it perfect! So I rushed back to the stove and sauteed some garlic in olive oil, threw in some canned crushed tomatoes and made sure I seasoned it with salt and pepper. Hence, a quickie marinara sauce… The verdict? Not yet… Not without a photo!

Now… That is art…

I hereby nominate this as my masterpiece for the week… As Dora the Explorer would say, “Delicioso!”

Leave a Reply

