GaleraSunsetWM (1)

THE PUERTO GALERA CHARM

The Philippines is made up of thousands of islands. It is a tropical paradise like no other. If beaches are the topic of discussion, several spots come to mind. Boracay, Palawan, Bohol, Cebu.. But if you want to hit the beach, and you don’t want to hop on a plane, the choices become limited. If you ask me though, I don’t feel shortchanged if I don’t have much time or cash to spare. I hit Puerto Galera and I am a happy camper!

Puerto Galera is accessible by land and sea. A two hour drive to the Batangas City port, and an hour by boat are all it takes, and you are in Puerto Galera. Many may refer to it as the poor man’s Boracay. But it offers us more than that. It may have had its share of bad publicity over the years. But its natural charm will lure you back to it. I have been going back and forth to Puerto Galera and I never tire of it. You just need to know where to look and where to hang out.

Let me show you the pockets of beauty that Puerto Galera offers. Perhaps I can change your mind about it.๐Ÿ™‚

My accommodation of choice: Mindorinne Oriental

My accommodation of choice: Mindorinne Oriental

This is the view from the balcony of our room at Mindorinne Oriental. No other hotel on the white beach stretch can beat its central location. Rooms are hotel type, there is free wifi and free breakfast that comes with the package. Call +639178578425 for more details.

Colorful highpower boats

Colorful highpower boats

This is one of the boats that will take you from the Batangas City Port to the White Beach stretch of Puerto Galera. It takes an average of one hour. Since it sails on open seas, it is best to traevl in the morning when the sea is at its calmest.

GrottoWM

This to me is one ย of the most beautiful spots in town. The local church has its own grotto of Our Lady of Puerto Galera. Its backdrop is the scenic Puerto Galera Marina, set in one of the 10 best bays of the world.

HaligiWM

Undoubtedly the best picnic spot in the entire of Puerto Galera, Haligi beach! Just look and you will agree.

GaleraSunsetWM (1)

Puerto Galera has one of the best sunsets I’ve ever seen. I’ve witnesses perhaps hundreds of this, but I couldnt keep myself from taking endless snapshots with this as my subject.๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

